After VAMPS’ sudden announcement of a hiatus on December 2017, HYDE is back on the solo project with two singles titled WHO’S GONNA SAVE US and AFTER LIGHT. On top of these new singles, he has announced a tour titled HYDE LIVE 2018 and will circle around Japan, hitting up Tokyo, Sapporo, Nagoya, Sendai, and Osaka from June till August. What can be expected from a project which has been shelved for 12 years? Let’s first take a look at WHO’S GONNA SAVE US that is out on June 27:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMA_L5a5BKY

WHO’S GONNA SAVE US is completely in English, and we can hear a significant improvement and confidence in his pronunciation. This song will be on a single, accompanied by MIDNIGHT CELEBRATION Ⅱ, a re-recording of the 2003 song from his second album 666. The video shares similar coloring and futuristic cityscape vibes when comparing it to RADWIMP’s latest Catharsist video, so we wonder if this is a new trend for this year?

We’re not sure why Hyde didn’t attempt to escape from the ax-man, but make sure to watch till the end for a potential cliffhanger for the next music video, which moves us onto AFTER LIGHT that is out on August 1. Watch the video below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=noJyaWbtoUU

It’s neon and UV colors galore for AFTER LIGHT with hints of human vs monster theme in the narrative. There’s not much to be told from the short trailer yet, but we believe there’s an interesting cross-over concept between the two new videos.

Which do you prefer so far? AFTER LIGHT orWHO’S GONNA SAVE US? Let us know in the comments below.

HYDE LIVE 2018 Tour

June 29 (Fri) ZEPP TOKYO * HYDEIST ONLY
June 30 (Sat) ZEPP TOKYO * HYDEIST ONLY
July 2 (Monday) ZEPP TOKYO
July 3 (Tue) ZEPP TOKYO
July 7 (Sat) ZEPP SAPPORO
July 8 (Sun) ZEPP SAPPORO
July 11 (Wed) ZEPP NAGOYA
July 12 (Thu) ZEPP NAGOYA
July 14 (Sat) ZEPP NAGOYA * BEAUTY & THE BEAST
July 15 (Sun) ZEPP NAGOYA
July 19 (Thu) SENDAI PIT
Friday, July 20 SENDAI PIT
Wednesday, July 25 (Wed) ZEPP OSAKA BAYSIDE
July 26 (Thur) ZEPP OSAKA BAYSIDE
July 28 (Saturday) ZEPP OSAKA BAYSIDE * BEAUTY & THE BEAST
July 29 (Sun) ZEPP OSAKA BAYSIDE
July 31 (Tue) ZEPP OSAKA BAYSIDE
August 1 (Wed) ZEPP OSAKA BAYSIDE

 

WHO’S GONNA SAVE US

  1. WHO’S GONNA SAVE US
  2. MIDNIGHT CELEBRATION Ⅱ *2003 release re-recording version from HYDE’s 2nd album “666”

Buy at iTunes Japanrecochoku, Apple music, or Universal Music Japan

AFTER LIGHT

  1. AFTER LIGHT
  2. KISS OF DEATH

Buy at Universal Music Japan

More info:
Official Website
YouTube
Twitter
Facebook

Hyde Official Website
Twitter
Facebook

Give us your opinion!